Monday , 13th July 2020

337 candidates contesting by-poll for 52 posts with 454,114 voters

Kathmandu- By-elections to elect people’s representatives for 52 vacant posts including a member to the House of Representatives, three members to the Province Assemblies and 48 local representatives began at 7 am today.

Voters are casting their votes at all 246 voting centers with 537 polling booths of 37 districts in the country. Voters can cast their votes until 5 pm today.

Except sporadic incidents including explosions at three polling centers, the voting is taking place in a free, fair and peaceful manner, the Election Commission said.

A total of 337 candidates are contesting the by-elections for 52 vacant posts for which 454, 114 voters are casting their votes.

Twenty one candidates are contesting for one vacant post of the House of Representatives, 43 for province assemblies and 273 are contesting the elections for the local level vacant posts.

An integrated security plan has been arranged for the by-elections in coordination with all security agencies, according to the EC.

A proper arrangement has been made for those voters who are physically challenged, senior citizens, pregnant and postpartum women to ensure voting rights.

Voting is taking place to elect a member to the House of Representatives in Kaski-2, three members to the Province Assemblies in Bhaktapur, Baglung and Dang.

Likewise, voting is underway to elect mayor of Dharan Sub-metropolitan City, chiefs of Falgunanda Rural Municipality of Pachthar, Makalu Rural Municipality of Sankhuwasabha, Pipara Rural Municipality of Mahottari, deputy chief of Kharpunath Rural Municipality of Humla and 43 ward chairpersons across the country.